Welcome 2012

Wow…2012 is here!

This is a year that I have waited on for a very long time. This is the year I will finally finish college and be a certified Music Education Teacher!!! I have been at Dallas Christian College for four years and have learned so much from my time there. I am giddy with anticipation as this semester begins in a few short days!

My semester will consist of two classes (a night class and an online class) for 6 weeks, then beginning in February student teaching at Carrollton Christian Academy!

I cannot wait to see the journey that this semester and 2012 will bring. Since it is January 2012, I figured I should recap on 2011…

2011 was a great year for me, but very busy. January I began my senior year of college and hit the ground running taking 19 hours that semester. I survived somehow. March I went to Berlin, Germany on a mission trip with Dallas Christian College that changed my life completely. While on this trip we visited Madrid, Spain. I fell in love with Spain and my heart is still there today.

I had been home from Germany for about two weeks and I totaled my car. This was an experience. I re-ended a guy and it totaled my, 2004 Lincoln LS. I loved that car. I had to say goodbye to it and got my 2002 Ford Mustang back from my sister. My sister got a new car and I got my Mustang back, which I was just fine with. 🙂

As soon as school ended I became a full time nanny to 2 boys in McKinney. I grew up in an all girls house and here I am nannying 2 boys…it was interesting. They were 5 and 7. Needless to say I was busy. I got one week of vacation in June. I spent that week with my boyfriend and his family at Disney World. I LOVED it!

In July I began playing back up keys at LifeChurch Coppell, my church and I LOVE IT! I love being apart of LifeChurch and being able to play piano. I just love being apart of worship and such an amazing church 😀

As soon as summer ended, I began my final semester of classes at Dallas Christian College. I was a senior living in the dorms and dreading it. I didn’t know what would happen, but I was there. For some reason, God put me back in the dorm and I fought about that decision. After the semester began, talking 21 hours, I dropped a class and worked hard on my Senior Voice Recital.

September 2nd, I celebrated a 2-year anniversary with my amazing boyfriend. November 3rd, I performed my voice recital to the highest recorded attendance. And found out why I was in the dorm. I lead a small group of 4 other girls in my room every Thursday night, which was my favorite part of my week.

I went on Pine Cove Youth Retreat with MundoDeFe Youth. I was with junior high girls and had the best weekend ever! The result of an awesome weekend was no voice when I got back.

I finished the semester strong and ended up on the Dean’s List!

Wow what an awesome 2011. As I sit here praying and seeking God about 2012 and where God will take me. In front of me the world is asking a million questions that I do not have answers for such as:

Where am I going to work?
How can I get a job in education much less music education?
What is going to happen with my boyfriend of 2 years?
What will God do next?

I honestly do not know any answers, but I am reminded in Jeremiah 29:11=12, God says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.”

This is what I will lean on this semester until God, in His perfect timing, answers the questions of life.

 

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

