Relax

How many times have you sat down to have a quiet time and time alone with God and at least once thought about the looming to do list you have to get done that day? How many times have we said, “Ok, God, this is our time and no distractions” and within 5 min, our mind drifts off to think about the trials that are in life?

Just so you know I am using the word “we” because I am guilty and I hope I’m not the only one 🙂

So confession time…I was sitting down the other day to have my quiet time, and this particular day was a day I had gotten some news about my health that I was not sure what was going to happen. (Refer to my Blog called “Bad News”) I was excited to have my quiet time, because for Christmas my mom gave me “ Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young and I was ready to read. I sat down, prayed, and in the middle my prayer my mind began to wonder what to really do about my thyroid issue, then I snapped back into it and finished my prayer. I opened up my book and guess what the first few words were… “Relax in My healing Presence”…and get this the next part said (and I paraphrase) as you spend time with me, your thoughts tend to wonder to into today’s trials and problems. WOW

I stopped and immediately was in shock. As I sat there I remembered the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10.

Martha had asked Jesus into her house, so Jesus and His disciples went. When they got there Martha was running around busy preparing everything for the meal while Mary sat at the feet of Jesus. Martha saw Mary and complained to Jesus. Jesus replied in verse 41, “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed –or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-42)

I’m sure for Martha that had to be a slap in the face type moment, but its what she needed. It is just like what I needed to read the devotional for the day.

How many times in life have we been Martha? Why is it hard in life to just give God a few minutes?

Psalm 105:4 says, “Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.”

After God got me back in shape, I looked to him and now I know that the test that I need to do and all the results are in His hands, and I don’t need to worry about it 😉

So today… Stop, Relax, Let God, and Let God!

Let’s be Marys in this Martha world together 🙂

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

