Change

When you say the word “change” what emotions come to your mind? It is fear? Anxiety? Excitement?

For me my answer was fear a little over a year ago. I have admitted before, and I will say it again, I am a CONTROL FREAK! I like to plan everything out and everything must go just as I planned it. So naturally when change came, it ruined everything and that scared me.

Let me explain a little what I mean by “control freak”. I am the kind of person that will sit down and plan out the next 2 weeks. I will plan the schedule, the meals, outfits for the days, and I will think through my plan at least 100 times to make sure I did not miss a single detail. Then when the day comes and if it does not go according to plan, I begin to freak. My freak out moments are moments of pure anxiety and I have to figure out how to get back to my plan.

What I have just described is how I was a little over a year ago. God has used events in my life lately to show me it is not my job to plan, it is my job to embrace change and go with the flow.

The way he has taught me these lessons is by giving me an unplanned pregnancy right after we were married. (Unplanned = I did not plan it 😉 ) He also taught me this by having my husband have 3 job changes in our first year of marriage. He taught me to quit planning when we moved to a small town from DFW.

Moving to the small town in the best God story and that will have to be another blog post later 🙂

God has taught me over this year that change can be GOOD!

What? Did I just say that?

Change can be good.

I have learned over this past year that God is the best planner. No matter how many times I try to sit down and plan out my day, weeks, and even months ahead, God always has something better in mind.

Through this entire year, God has been putting Jeremiah 29:11-12 in my head. I know, I know that one of the most popular verses in the Christian mouths, but honestly really read it and meditate on it today.

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.’” (NIV)

God knows the plans He has in store for us, so why waste time planning out days, weeks, and months. I have really learned that God’s plan is so much better than my own. God truly will provide all that we need. He will always be there with better plans than we could ever fathom.

Trust His plans today!

Xoxo

Marcy

Leave a Reply

