Marriage…It Takes Work

With the Valentine’s Season approaching I wanted to reflect a little on my marriage.

It has been just over a year and a half since we got married. What a year and a half it has been.

Over this year and a half I have had to learn many hard lessons and I am thankful to have a man that loves God enough to stick it out with me. This has been the hardest time in my life to date, but yet the best time.

I wanted to share today what I have learned. I know I haven’t been married long and I sure don’t have it all figured out. There are just a few of the things that have made a huge difference in my life.

1. Love each other at all times even if you can’t stand each other.
What I mean by that is always love your spouse even if you don’t like him/her at the time. There have been times during this year and a half that I have not liked my husband at a particular moment but I still love him. Yes, I didn’t like him because he was pushing all my buttons or not helping but yet I still loved him.

2. Date each other.
After your “honeymoon glow” wears off don’t forget to date each other. I know everyone already told you this, but honestly that has what has held our marriage together. When my husband out money aside and says “I’m taking you on a date” I feel special…just like I did when we were dating. When he and I go on a date (whether it be a date at home or out somewhere) we always put away our phones. If we go out we leave our phones in the car. If we are at home, our phones are on silent and in another room. If you are like us and have kids you can check them just to make sure your kiddos are ok…but not to check Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, games or whatever else. Your date night is for you and your spouse only!

3. Go to your spouse before others.
This applies a lot to women, especially women that live close to their mothers. Go to your spouse for advice, encouragement, love, support, etc before you would go to your mom, friend, sister, brother, etc. I tend to go to other before my husband, because I normally think “he has to much going on…he doesn’t need my baggage.” When in fact he WANTED my baggage….he WANTED to help me. When I thought it was helping him not to go to him…it actually hurt him.

4. Love their family.
I am lucky in the department; my husband’s family is absolutely amazing. I love being with them, I love having them come visit us, I love visiting them, I love how they love my Abigail, and I love how they love me. Like I said, I am blessed, but not everyone is as blessed as I am. You might not like your spouse’s family, but LOVE them. They are everything to your spouse. Just think about how much your family means to you and remember that is how your spouse feels about their family too.

5.  Enjoy marriage.
God designed marriage to be a fun thing in life. You grow up always dreaming about what marriage will be like one day…now stop dreaming and LIVE your dream. If it isn’t the dream day find ways to make it a dream day. Enjoy having your spouse and remind yourself why you fell in love with them in the first place. Play like you are teens just beginning to date, flirt and enjoy marriage.

The best piece of advice I can ever give you concerning marriage is PRAY. Marriage is a decision you make everyday to love and be with your spouse. Make the best of it. Bless your spouse and pray God will guide your every step.

These few things have gotten us to a year and a half…and I think that is pretty good 🙂

Xoxo,

Marcy

Image

Leave a Reply

