The “C” Word

No one knows what to say when a doctor utters the unthinkable “C” word. Your mind just stops, sits there and is in complete shock.

As humans when we hear “cancer” we forget who is in control. We forget that God has a plan. We forget that it is in His hands. But…how else do you function when you hear that you or someone you love has cancer? How do you let God comfort you? God allowed this to happen to you…why is it part of His plan for this person to have cancer?

Cancer has been all around me lately and I can’t help up think, WHY GOD? I want to be very open and honest in what I am going to say next. I believe God has a plan…but I can’t see it right now.

Why did a 7 year old have to battle cancer, chemo and radiation? Why does a daddy, husband, farmer, and man of God have to go back and forth to Dallas for treatment? WHY GOD? Why does MY daddy have to get cancer? What have they done in their lives to get cancer? All 3 of these people love God with all their hearts and follow Him DAILY…so why must they have cancer?

God, I know you have a plan…but why can’t we see it? I know you are in control, but why does this have to happen?

I believe God allows us to walk through storms in life so we can rejoice in Him later. He doesn’t ever show us His plan…because our human brains cannot comprehend it. When we feel like He has abandoned us…he is actually right next to us. When we feel like the world is crashing down around us…He is there to rescue us.

Like He PROMISES us in His Word:

When you go through deep waters, I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up;
the flames will not consume you.
For I am the LORD, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
“Do not be afraid, for I am with you.
I will gather you and your children from east and west.”
Isaiah 43:2-4a, 5 (NLT)

God knows what He is doing. He has a plan. We may not always understand what is going on, but God does. There is a saying that I LOVE:
If God brings you TO it; HE will bring you THROUGH it!

Cancer is tough, but we serve an even TOUGHER God. Cancer is big, but we serve a BIGGER God. Cancer is scary, but serve a COMFORTING God.

Today I CHOOSE to put my trust in a tough, big, comforting God. It is/will be a day by day battle to choose to trust God in the midst of the storm, but God the Bible says, “Do not be afraid or terrified because of them {your circumstance}, for the LORD your God goes with you; He will NEVER leave you nor forsake you.” (Deut. 31:6 NIV) Quote that verse to yourself when you need a reminder 🙂

XOXO,

Marcy

8efa349ed9f8d10ad21e49a71a26d71c

Leave a Reply

