What is First?

This morning, for some reason I cannot comprehend, I was wide awake at 4 am! I am NOT. A morning person. Right now is summer break for me and I have truly enjoyed my days to sleep in, so 4 am was not in my agenda. Actually, I had set my alarm for 7:30 last night and honestly that made me a little sick to my stomach.

So when 4 am came along, I was tossing and turning, I did what any good Christian would do…er…ummmm what most of my generation would do in this time…I grab my iPhone and begin check emails, social media and catching up on some blog posts I had wanted to read.

Finally after getting up to date with the cyber world, I stumble into the kitchen to make myself a nice cup of coffee…after all gotta get the caffeine going…I have an almost 15 month old daughter who will wake up in about 3 hours and I need energy!

Finally, sipping hazelnut coffee and a flood of thoughts goes through my mind…
“pray for ______, ______, _____”
oh and “_______” and
” ______ needs a text” and
” ______ needs a card”
and…
“Must take care of ______, ______ and ______ today.”
and …”Today’s schedule!
do the laundry…
Feed the dog we are house sitting for…
Be at the Doctors by 10:15 (check up for the daughter)
Feed all other animals we are taking care of…
MUST. PLAN. NEXT. SCHOOL YEAR!”
It keeps going….

The coffee is only helping to speed the formation of these thoughts…

But in the back of my mind and heart is the quiet thought:
time with Jesus.

Not as a to-do.

Not as an escape.

Just a reminder to of my priorities.

I’m reminded of Mary breaking the alabaster box. With a year’s worth of perfume in it.
Spilling out on Jesus.

Am I giving my best to Jesus?
Am I allowing Him to be number one?
Am I allowing my list to get in the way?
Am I allowing poor things to get in the way?

Jesus said: the poor, you’ll always have. I’m not always going to be here. In this moment. In this way. She chose the right thing. The value placed on the valuable.

My list? It’s the poor stuff. There are legitimate needs in it and legitimate things that need to get done. I can justify it. There are PRAYER requests. But the list? It’s needy. It’s always gonna be there. It’s a list of the world.

Jesus? He gets the stuff of value. First. Not what’s left over. He gets first pick.

Did I do that this morning? Sadly, no. Does that mean God doesn’t love me? No. He helps me remember to put Him first. He guides me gently and loves me relentlessly. He cares!

As I was browsing Social Media this morning I came across a quote on Pinterest. “You always have time for the things you put first.”

What did you put first today?

XOXO,

Marcy

photo(2)

Leave a Reply

