JOY

2015?!?!?! Where did 2014 go? If you are like me, 2014 seemed to go by in a blink of an eye. Well, some days at least. This past year has been full of ups and downs and in some ways I’m glad it’s over, but in some ways I’m not.

With 2014 over, that is one year gone that I will not get back with my daughter. Watching her grow everyday over this past year has been amazing. She has come SO FAR even in the past 2 months. I feel like the sports fan that is on the edge of their seat just waiting to see what will happen next in the game, because I am always on the edge of my seat waiting to see what will happen next with my daughter. What will be the next word she says? How many steps will she take unassisted this time? Oh, how much she has grown!

With 2014 over, that is means it is time for a new start. That does not mean, however, only the New Year do we get a new start. No, actually in Lamentations 3, it says “The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease! Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.” I don’t know about you, but that makes me want to SHOUT from the mountaintops (well the clouds – there are no mountains in Texas people)! Each day is a new start.

However, with a New Year, new things come to mind. How can I be a better Image Bearer (or Mirror Image) of God in 2015? As I was praying and seeking what I could change the phrase: CHOOSE JOY kept coming to my mind. I now understand that this year, no matter what comes my way I will CHOOSE JOY! Just because I have said I’m going to CHOOSE JOY doesn’t mean life will be a walk in the park…no it just means I am going to have to make myself CHOOSE JOY even when everything else around me is going to say the opposite. There will be days when I don’t “feel” joyFULL, but those are the days I will lean on the fact that Jesus gave me my JOY.

This reminds me of a song I use to sing in Vacation Bible School. It goes like this:

I’ve got Joy down in my heart – Deep, deep down in my heart (Spell It)
J-O-Y down in my heart – Deep, deep down in my heart
Jesus put it there so nothing can destroy, destroy, destroy it
I’ve got Joy down in my heart- Deep, Deep down in my heart

Did you catch that? JESUS put it there so nothing can destroy it! I CHOOSE to live in JOY this year. Stand on HIS promises this year and know where TRUE JOY comes from! Join with me! Let’s make 2015 a joyFULL year! Let’s help each other CHOOSE JOY and never look back.

Happy JOYful 2015!

Marcy

Leave a Reply

