shock. loss. Hope.

There is no way I’m pregnant. With 2 kids already and 2 jobs, another baby was the last thing on my mind. It must just be stress making me feel this way. But, ok I will take the home test. Positive.

Ok, maybe that was wrong lets test again tomorrow to be sure. My heart was racing, my stomach lurching, as the pale, but definitely visible, second line stared back at me from the bathroom countertop. I’m pregnant. Surely this must be a mistake. My youngest is about to be 6 months old (at the time).

My first thoughts were for our youngest. How can I possibly give her the attention she needs if I’m distracted by months of morning sickness and worse — a brand new baby? Then our oldest, how can I turn her world upside AGAIN?

I was in shock. I didn’t know what to think. Everyone around me was happy, while surprised, when they heard the news. Still, I couldn’t shake the sorrow.

Yes, I want more kids in the future, but now? I knew the life growing inside of me was already part of our family. I just needed time to get used to the idea.

As time went on, I began to come around to the idea of 3 kids and 2 jobs. As the sickness started to lessen, so did my feelings of anxiety. We would figure out the schedules and the money and all the other details a family with three kids always does. I was even starting to enjoy the idea of three kids running around together making messes, sharing stories and filling our home with giggles.

Then at 10 weeks, IT happened. I began to loose the baby. We fought. We fought hard to hold on to this baby. But God had different plans. I had a miscarriage.

I felt so guilty. Guilty over not wanting this baby to begin with, guilty for all the times I prayed with bitterness about the pregnancy and afraid that maybe all my negative emotions had caused this little life to leave me. Which is NOT true! A miscarriage cannot be explained sometimes – and even more so in our situation. However, we know God has a better plan. We don’t see it and we might not understand it, but we have to TRUST it.

Through the chaos of emotions my body reacted negatively and I ended up spending most of my night in an ER. Thankfully, the LORD was there every step of the process. He gave us the perfect ER Doctor. He lead us right where we needed to be. He allowed the right medical attention given to me at the right time. He designed our bodies so well that my body can heal itself after the past 10 weeks.

Our Angel Baby is now sitting at the LORD’s feet. Our Angel Baby now has an even better life than I could ever imagine. Our Angel Baby will never have to worry about sin, temptation or worldly desires. Instead, our Angel Baby will walk the streets of gold and forever worship. Nothing better than knowing your children are with the Father. Still it hurts, but there is peace with the Father.

Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Matthew 5:4

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. Isaiah 43:2

Knowing that God has a perfect plan for our lives gives me an indescribable hope for the future. I think I will always get sad when I look back on this time in our life, but I will continue to rejoice knowing that God works for the good of those who love Him. You could spend your whole life asking why something happened, but you will never have any peace until you give it over to God. His plan and his timing are far better than anything we can imagine for ourselves.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28

I may not understand the situation now, but I know who HOLDS the situation.
I may hurt, but I know who HOLDS me.
I may be confused, but I know who KNOWS all the answers.

Our Angel Baby will forever be apart of our family.
We love you, Angel!
Leave a Reply

